SHOUT 17 - Barbara Brownskirt (Karen McLeod)

Shrouded in iconic anorak, knees bulging from pop socks, Barbara Brownskirt is the unsuccessful lesbian Poet-in-Residence at the 197 bus stop, Croydon Road, Penge. We meet her, unlucky-in-love, as she attempts to find out who she is and why she is. Share the highs and lows as she explores how to survive in 21st Century Britain through poetry, slides, and a study of Judi Dench done three ways.

This darkly funny, pathos-fuelled poetry theatre show is written and performed by prize-winning author and performer Karen McLeod, with support from Arts Council England. Fans of Victoria Wood and Rik Mayall will love it.

“Indefatigable, prolific and utterly unpublishable, Barbara is the manifestation of bitterness, anger, lesbian cliché... railing against her lot through poetry. Barbara is rubbish, but she doesn’t know it.”  – Vice

More shows in Theatre...